LibGuides: AP English III- Reverse Synthesis : Home

Guiding Documents

Possible Search Topics
Types of Information Sources
Export Works Cited from Noodletools
Use this video to help you export your citations to a word document or Google drive. Shows you how to remove URLs.

News Sources

Passwords from Home

2015-16 Passwords

How do I access the databases from home?

1. Select the link above

2. When asked for a password ask Ms. Lopez or think of cheering on your mascot :)

3. Once open you will have a list of all database usernames and passwords

Best for CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES

MVHS-Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-Explora (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window Searches Academic Search Complete, TopicSearch, Newspaper Source, Topic Overviews and Ebsco's eBook collection all in one platform.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window Covering the pros and cons Leading Issues most studied and debated by students.
- This link opens in a new window

Best for SUBJECT Specific

MVHS-Science in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-GreenFILE (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window This complimentary research database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window U.S. History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Google Accounts & NoodleTools

Logging into your school Google Account.

firstname.lastnameXX@k12.leanderisd.org

XX stands for the last two numbers in your studentID

Password is the password you use to login to the computers.

Download Google Drive to your mobile devices.

NoodleTools Easy Access for IPAD and IPHONE

lastname_studentID (if you followed directions)

password is your creation...probably your birthdate

Click on this link for directions.

Best for GENERAL Information

MVHS-Student Resources In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as Search Assist and quick fact boxes.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-Britannica School This link opens in a new window In Britannica School, students can conduct research using thousands upon thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended Web sites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools. Trust Britannica School to inspire, inform, and support exploration, discovery, and learning—any time, any place, and on any device.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
MVHS-Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale ebooks) This link opens in a new window

Best for PERIODICALS

MVHS-General One File (Gale) This link opens in a new window General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When using for the first time remember to click on the JSTOR Token found on the passwords page. Once account is created use your newly created username and password.
MVHS-Newsstand (Gale) This link opens in a new window InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-MasterFILE Premier (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications that cover a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
- This link opens in a new window
MVHS-Newspaper Source (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window This database provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. In addition, it offers full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
- This link opens in a new window