CPHS: Gale In Context: BiographyThis link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
CPHS: Pop Culture Universe (ABC-CLIO)This link opens in a new windowPopular culture is a highly significant form of living history—a constantly evolving, collective experience shaped by the seemingly trivial aspects of daily life. By examining what society as a whole has found interesting, entertaining, or worthy of adulation, we can clearly perceive our values and aspirations, revealing rare sociological and historical insights.
CPHS: Science Online (Facts On File)This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
MVHS-AM Digital-American Indian Histories and CulturesThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Indian Histories and Cultures’ is a unique resource that makes available, for the first time, many rare and significant documents from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
Spanning four hundred years, document types include manuscripts, artworks, speeches and petitions, diaries, correspondence, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps, photographs, rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color. Searchable.
MVHS-AM Digital-American WestThis link opens in a new windowSourced from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, ‘The American West’ allows browsers to explore tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws.
Document types include: manuscripts, trade cards, wanted posters, photographs, claim certificates, news sheets, rare printed works, brand books, broadsides, correspondence, diaries, directories, journals, pamphlets, periodicals, and artworks. Full color. Searchable.
MVHS-Britannica SchoolThis link opens in a new windowIn Britannica School, students can conduct research using thousands upon thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended Web sites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools. Trust
Britannica School to inspire, inform, and support exploration, discovery, and learning—any time, any place, and on any device.
MVHS-Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new windowOxfordDictionaries.com is your destination whenever you need language guidance: every time you need to know the meaning or pronunciation of a word, how to translate it into another language, or whether you’re
using it correctly. It’s your first point of reference and your guide to the language of today.
MVHS-Passwords from HomeThis link opens in a new windowHow do I access the databases from home?
1. Select the link.
2. When asked for a password ask Ms. Lopez or think of cheering on your mascot :)
3. Once open you will have a list of all database usernames and passwords
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Student Resources in Context provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content, including:
Reference articles from acclaimed publications like American Decades
Periodical and newspaper articles from the "New York Times", "USA Today", and many others
Multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables
Video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources
VRHS Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete,This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
VRHS Consumer Health CompleteThis link opens in a new windowhe single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
VRHS eBook Business Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowEBooks are selected for this collection to assist students and scholars with various business research, special project and entrepreneurial needs, and to help students understand general business concepts. The eBook Business Collection encompasses a variety of business topics, such as marketing, finance, supply chain management and entrepreneurship, with additional focus on career growth, personal development, communication and networking.
VRHS eBook Education Collection (EBSCOhost)
The eBook Education Collection provides titles ranging from introductory texts on education theory and practice for undergraduates to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars in the Education discipline. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.
VRHS eBook History Collection (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowThis collection features history titles across a variety of subjects, including Medieval History, History of Music, History of Science, History of the World, History of the Caribbean & West Indies, History of the Holocaust, Law in History, History of Philosophy, History of Africa, Art History, History of Technology & Engineering, History of Business & Economics, History of the Middle East, History of Latin America, History of Canada, History of Asia, History of Religion, History of Europe, History of the Military and History of the United States.
This collection offers full text titles with unlimited access designed specifically to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all academic subjects from History, to Language and Literature, to Science & Technology.
VRHS ERICThis link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
VRHS ExploraThis link opens in a new windowExplora for Secondary Schools is the replacement for Kids Search and Student Research Center and features an easy to use interface and updated functionality like the cite button.
VRHS Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowFor students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
VRHS GreenFileThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.
VRHS Health Source - Consumer EditionThis link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
VRHS MAS Ultra - School EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra – School Edition contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
VRHS MasterFILE PremierThis link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, etc
VRHS Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
VRHS Professional Development CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProfessional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
VRHS Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowincorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
VRHS Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
With more than 300 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
VRHS Teacher Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
VRHS Texas Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTexas Reference Center is a Texas specific product comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains more than 75 full text periodicals, 150 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more. Examples of titles offered include: Best in Texas, Texas Business Review, Texas Education Review, Texas Journal of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Texas Journal of Women & the Law, Texas Journal on Civil Liberties & Civil Rights, Texas Law Review, Texas Magazine, Texas Monthly, Texas Public Health Association Journal, Houston Chronicle (TX), Texas Review, Touchstone (Texas State Historical Association), and many more.
VRHS TOPICsearchThis link opens in a new windowThis current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch contains full text for nearly 96,000 articles from hundreds of diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.