GUIDING DOCUMENTS
- Navigating Noodletools This PDF shows the steps and other information for navigating Noodletools.
GENERAL DATABASES
- High School in Context (Gale) Gale In Context: High School is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Explora (EbscoHost) Searches Academic Search Complete, TopicSearch, Newspaper Source, Topic Overviews and Ebsco's eBook collection all in one platform.
- Britannica School In Britannica School, students can conduct research using thousands upon thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended Web sites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools. Trust Britannica School to inspire, inform, and support exploration, discovery, and learning—any time, any place, and on any device.
SPECIFIC TOPIC: ACADEMIC JOURNALS, NEWSPAPERS, MAGAZINES
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
- JSTOR Make sure when you sign in that "Access provided by Vandegrift High School," is listed at the top of the JSTOR website.
- General OneFile (Gale) General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
- Newspaper Source (EbscoHost) This database provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. In addition, it offers full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
- Newsstand (Gale) InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
PASSWORDS FROM HOME
How do I access the databases from home?
1. Select either the Word or PDF file from the links below.
2. When asked for a password, ask Ms. Lopez or Mrs. Roberts, or think of cheering on your mascot :).
3. Once open, you will have a list of all database usernames and passwords.