LibGuides: History of the Americas 1: LHS Library Databases and Books

Best for Biographies

Biography Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.

******Library passwords******
You will need these to access the following library sites from off campus. To open the page, use "golions".

Remember Keyword searching is like looking at an index in a book.

Subject searching is like looking at the Table of Contents.

Try searching both ways--you will get better results.

Lots of other search engines exist in the Internet world--more than just Google! Different sites will give you different results.

NoodleQuest This link opens in a new window
Not sure what search engine is best for your search? Look here. NoodleQuest will give you some suiggested search engines based on what sort of information you need to find.
Choose a search engine. This link opens in a new window
Look here for an extensive list of different search engines and a short description of each.

Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries,each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian
provinces and territories.

Student Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and newspaper articles, radio broadcasts, statistics, maps, and primary documents.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from newspapers from around the world.

ProQuest
Includes thousands of newspapers and magazines, many updated daily. 1986 to present. Hint: Begin with an Advanced Search and select one database to search. Platinum Periodicals is a good choice. Hint: Check off 'Full Text Articles Only."
World Newspapers

Student Resource Center (Gale)
Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC - Gold provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Premier reference content includes the American Journey Series, American Decades, Career Information Center and the SRC Health Module.

eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
SIRS Knowledge Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive portal offering centralized access to all SIRS products which target the needs of students with best-of content selected to support research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window