Skip to Main Content
BOOKS AT VANDEGRIFT
Wind and Water by John Tabak
There are enormous reserves of energy in the winds and the tides and in the temperature difference between the upper and lower regions of the oceans. This title describes conventional hydropower, or wind power, and some of the newer technologies (with less certain futures), and discusses the strengths and limitations of each technology.
Call Number: Online
The Pros and Cons of Wind Power by Richard Spilsbury; Louise Spilsbury
Explains and explores the use of wind power.
Call Number: 621.31 SPI
Renewable and Alternative Energy by Robert Curley
With growing populations across the world consuming EarthOCOs limited oil and natural gas reserves, the environmental and economic toll of energy dependence becomes an increasingly global concern. The development of renewable forms of energyOCosolar, wind, water, and geothermal, to name a fewOCooffers alternatives to fossil fuels. Consumers are embracing these new modes of energy delivery and use. This extensive volume examines the possibility of a cleaner and more energy efficient future by detailing the historic and emerging technologies behind some the most promising alternative resources.
Call Number: 621.042 REN
Energy Production and Alternative Energy by Debra A. Miller
This essential volume helps readers explore in detail the range of current and impending challenges that energy production and resources face as a result of global warming. Readers will examine these issues from a variety of expert perspectives, highlighting key future challenges, and addressing the pros and cons of potential solutions. After a thorough introduction on energy and global warming, our reliance on fossils fuels is explained. Fascinating topics such as reinventing transportation energy and achieving a clean-energy economy are richly explored.
Call Number: 333.79 MIL
STRICTLY SCIENTIFIC
GREENR (Gale)
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
GreenFile (EbscoHost)
This complimentary research database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Energy Citations Database
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. (From the website).
Science in Context (Gale)
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
FIND BOOKS AND PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS
JSTOR
When using for the first time remember to click on the JSTOR Token found on the passwords page. Once account is created use your newly created username and password.
Explora (EbscoHost)
Searches Academic Search Complete, TopicSearch, Newspaper Source, Topic Overviews and Ebsco's eBook collection all in one platform.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of all academic disciplines, Academic OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.
SELECTED WEB PAGES
Department of Energy
The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE search tool that makes scholarly scientific publications, resulting from DOE research funding, publicly accessible and discoverable at no charge to users.
National Wind Technology Center (NWTC) Research Portal
NREL's comprehensive gateway to research, guidelines, and a wind energy library.
UP FOR DEBATE
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
CQ Researcher
See Ms. Lopez for assistance.
Wind and Water by
There are enormous reserves of energy in the winds and the tides and in the temperature difference between the upper and lower regions of the oceans. This title describes conventional hydropower, or wind power, and some of the newer technologies (with less certain futures), and discusses the strengths and limitations of each technology.
The Pros and Cons of Wind Power by
Explains and explores the use of wind power.
Renewable and Alternative Energy by
With growing populations across the world consuming EarthOCOs limited oil and natural gas reserves, the environmental and economic toll of energy dependence becomes an increasingly global concern. The development of renewable forms of energyOCosolar, wind, water, and geothermal, to name a fewOCooffers alternatives to fossil fuels. Consumers are embracing these new modes of energy delivery and use. This extensive volume examines the possibility of a cleaner and more energy efficient future by detailing the historic and emerging technologies behind some the most promising alternative resources.
Energy Production and Alternative Energy by
This essential volume helps readers explore in detail the range of current and impending challenges that energy production and resources face as a result of global warming. Readers will examine these issues from a variety of expert perspectives, highlighting key future challenges, and addressing the pros and cons of potential solutions. After a thorough introduction on energy and global warming, our reliance on fossils fuels is explained. Fascinating topics such as reinventing transportation energy and achieving a clean-energy economy are richly explored.
