Skip to Main Content
BOOKS AT VANDEGRIFT
Geothermal Power by Neil Morris
Geothermal energy is produced by heat deep inside Earth, and we can use it to power machines, as well as to heat our homes, schools, and offices. How do we harness geothermal power? Will it ever run out? Can it provide us with the energy we need in our power-hungry world? Book jacket.
Call Number: 333.8 MOR
Solar and Geothermal Energy by John Tabak
Solar energy and geothermal energy have a good deal in common. They are abundant and widely, if unevenly, distributed. Describing the nature of solar and geothermal energy and the processes by which these sources of energy can be harnessed, this book details how they are used in practice to supply electricity to the power markets.
Call Number: 621.47 TAB
Kick the Fossil Fuel Habit by Tom Rand; Dave Clark
"If the climate crisis had struck fifty years ago, we should have had no alternatives to fossil fuels. Today, there are many alternatives, and Tom Rand's book, Kick, is a superb introduction." -Gwynne Dyer, Journalist - International Affairs Kick is richly illustrated and accessible, it addresses achievable solutions that will have a real and meaningful impact on the future for our children. It's been conceived to appeal to a broad range of readers on multiple levels. For those who skim read and pull quotes and captions, Kick provides an engaging glimpse of this fascinating subject. For those who seek deeper understanding, the lively, factual text provides an easy-to-understand summary of the technologies and supports all claims with scientifically verified endnotes-from a politically neutral technology expert. Kick will engage, entertain and educate the public about one of the most important subjects of our time. The book deals with Solar, Wind, Geothermal, Biofuels, Hydropower, Ocean, Smart Buildings, Transportation, Efficiency and Conservation and the Energy Internet.
Call Number: 333.794 RAN
Renewable and Alternative Energy by Robert Curley
With growing populations across the world consuming Earths limited oil and natural gas reserves, the environmental and economic toll of energy dependence becomes an increasingly global concern. The development of renewable forms of energysolar, wind, water, and geothermal, to name a fewoffers alternatives to fossil fuels. Consumers are embracing these new modes of energy delivery and use. This extensive volume examines the possibility of a cleaner and more energy efficient future by detailing the historic and emerging technologies behind some the most promising alternative resources.
Call Number: 621.042 REN
STRICTLY SCIENTIFIC
GREENR (Gale)
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
GreenFile (EbscoHost)
This complimentary research database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Energy Citations Database
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. (From the website).
Science in Context (Gale)
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
FIND BOOKS AND PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS
JSTOR
When using for the first time remember to click on the JSTOR Token found on the passwords page. Once account is created use your newly created username and password.
Explora (EbscoHost)
Searches Academic Search Complete, TopicSearch, Newspaper Source, Topic Overviews and Ebsco's eBook collection all in one platform.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of all academic disciplines, Academic OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.
SELECTED WEB PAGES
AASG Geothermal Data Repository
This repository contains contributions from 50 state geological surveys to the State Geothermal Data Project, organized by the Association of American State Geologists with funding from the Department of Energy.
Department of Energy
The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE search tool that makes scholarly scientific publications, resulting from DOE research funding, publicly accessible and discoverable at no charge to users.
The Future of Geothermal Thermal
The Future of Geothermal Energy – Impact of Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS) on the United States in the 21st Century, a report prepared by an MIT-led interdisciplinary panel, was released to the public January 22, 2007. The report suggests that 100,000 MWe of electrical generation capacity can be met through EGS within 50 years with a modest investment in R&D.
Geothermal Association
The Geothermal Energy Association is a trade association composed of U.S. companies who support the expanded use of geothermal energy and are developing geothermal Resources worldwide for electrical power generation and direct-heat uses.
UP FOR DEBATE
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
CQ Researcher
See Ms. Lopez for assistance.
Geothermal Power by
Geothermal energy is produced by heat deep inside Earth, and we can use it to power machines, as well as to heat our homes, schools, and offices. How do we harness geothermal power? Will it ever run out? Can it provide us with the energy we need in our power-hungry world? Book jacket.
Solar and Geothermal Energy by
Solar energy and geothermal energy have a good deal in common. They are abundant and widely, if unevenly, distributed. Describing the nature of solar and geothermal energy and the processes by which these sources of energy can be harnessed, this book details how they are used in practice to supply electricity to the power markets.
Kick the Fossil Fuel Habit by
"If the climate crisis had struck fifty years ago, we should have had no alternatives to fossil fuels. Today, there are many alternatives, and Tom Rand's book, Kick, is a superb introduction." -Gwynne Dyer, Journalist - International Affairs Kick is richly illustrated and accessible, it addresses achievable solutions that will have a real and meaningful impact on the future for our children. It's been conceived to appeal to a broad range of readers on multiple levels. For those who skim read and pull quotes and captions, Kick provides an engaging glimpse of this fascinating subject. For those who seek deeper understanding, the lively, factual text provides an easy-to-understand summary of the technologies and supports all claims with scientifically verified endnotes-from a politically neutral technology expert. Kick will engage, entertain and educate the public about one of the most important subjects of our time. The book deals with Solar, Wind, Geothermal, Biofuels, Hydropower, Ocean, Smart Buildings, Transportation, Efficiency and Conservation and the Energy Internet.
Renewable and Alternative Energy by
With growing populations across the world consuming Earths limited oil and natural gas reserves, the environmental and economic toll of energy dependence becomes an increasingly global concern. The development of renewable forms of energysolar, wind, water, and geothermal, to name a fewoffers alternatives to fossil fuels. Consumers are embracing these new modes of energy delivery and use. This extensive volume examines the possibility of a cleaner and more energy efficient future by detailing the historic and emerging technologies behind some the most promising alternative resources.
