Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a secondary source?
Generally secondary sources are accounts written after the fact with the benefit of hindsight. They are interpretations and evaluations of primary sources. Secondary sources are not evidence, but rather commentary on and discussion of evidence. However, what some define as a secondary source, others define as a tertiary source. Context is everything ("Primary, Secondary and Tertiary").
Some examples include (but are not limited to):
- articles & books that interpret, review, or analyze other works
- literary criticism
- political analyses
Recommended databases for European History
MVHS-World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
MVHS-JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Follow directions on the database password page. Once you complete the directions you can login using the account your created.
19th Century British Pamphlets
MVHS-Academic Search Complete (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can also download the Gale Access My School Library APP!
World History Collection (EbscoHost)
With content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East, this database contains cover-to-cover full text for a variety of authoritative titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. These hand-selected information sources offer a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, and more.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Citation Management Software
Citation management software can help you:
- Organize your citations
- format your citations into different citation styles
- add citations to your documents
- create a list of cited sources in your document
- create notecards to keep your research organized
NoodleTools Easy Access for IPAD and IPHONE
Click on this link for directions.