Mackin Via - Single Sign-on Access
NEW!!!
You now have anytime, anywhere access to ALL school databases and other electronic resources with only ONE username and password- YOURS! Just click on the MackinVia widget above and login with our school credentials (last_student ID & your password).
MackinVia also allows you to save articles and documents so you can easily find them later, mark resources as favorites so you can easily find those you like best, and work offline using the free MackinVIA app available for download.
Pre-AP Biology Assignment
Why can't I find it on Google?
Using Google for searches is fast, fun and usually gives you tons of results. However, when you are searching for specific scientific articles, you will discover that using online databases is a better way to find exactly what you need. Often, the articles you need are only available for a fee; because you are a VRHS student, you can access these articles for free from our online subscription databases. In some cases, your teacher will require you to use database resources only, so this is another good reason for learning how to find articles within the resources provided by your school library.
Science Resources
The following databases provide a wealth of quality research articles from both current periodicals, scholarly journals and newspapers. While using your articles please be sure to record the bibliographic citation at the bottom of the page, bookmarking and creating links will not work on databases, but you will be able to search using the article title if you need to find it again.
Science in Context, Opposing Viewpoints, Student Resources and GREENR are all Gale products for home use passwords
- VRHS ProQuest AP Science This link opens in a new window
- VRHS Science In Context This link opens in a new window
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - VRHS Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. - VRHS Student Resources In Context This link opens in a new window
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as Search Assist and quick fact boxes. - VRHS Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
he Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Turn It In Enrollment Information
Best for Science and Technology
Noodle Tools? Turn It In
Click the Turn It In link and then scroll down to create new account and select student.
Passwords from Home
How do I access the databases from home?
1. Select the link below
2. When asked for a password email Mrs. Spittler or think of your mascot :)
3. Once open you will have a list of all database usernames and passwords