Skip to Main Content
BEST FOR BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Explora (EbscoHost)
Searches Academic Search Complete, TopicSearch, Newspaper Source, and Topic Overviews all in one platform.
Britannica School
In Britannica School, students can conduct research using thousands upon thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended Web sites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools. Trust
Britannica School to inspire, inform, and support exploration, discovery, and learning—any time, any place, and on any device.
Biography in Context
Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Student Resources in Context
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as Search Assist and quick fact boxes.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
eBooks from Gale and premier partners including ISTE, ASCD, ABC-CLIO, DK, and Encyclopedia Britannica to support the K-12 core curriculum with GVRL.
ACADEMIC JOURNALS, NEWSPAPERS, MAGAZINES
JSTOR
Make sure when you sign in that "Access provided by Vandegrift High School," is listed at the top of the JSTOR website.
General OneFile (Gale)
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
Newspaper Source (EbscoHost)
This database provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. In addition, it offers full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Newsstand (Gale)
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES
Science in Context (Gale)
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
GREENR (Gale)
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
