Skip to main content
Rouse Home   /   Library Home

Rouse High School: Home

NEW BOOKS FALL 2020!

Dragon Hoops

This graphic novel follows the trials of a high school basketball team trying to clinch the state title and the graphic novelist chronicling them. The full-color illustrations are varied in layout, effectively conveying intense emotion and heart-stopping action on the court. Yang is Chinese American, Richie is black, and there is significant diversity among the team members.(Kirkus) 

All Your Twisted Secrets

"What do the queen bee, star athlete, valedictorian, stoner, loner, and music geek all have in common? They were all invited to a scholarship dinner, only to discover it's a trap. Someone has locked them into a room with a bomb, a syringe filled with poison, and a note saying they have an hour to pick someone to kill--or else everyone dies"--Provided by publisher.. (Suspense)

Heretics Anonymous

What happens when an atheist attends a Catholic school? Comedy and chaos as misfit students set out to change their school, one nun at a time in the starred-reviewed debut novel. (Humor, Realistic)

A Phoenix First Must Burn

Sixteen tales that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic-coming together in one stunning narrative of hope. (Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Short Stories)

Dig

Five estranged cousins are lost in a maze of their tangled family secrets. This story explores how a toxic culture of polite white supremacy tears a family apart. (Realistic) Winner of the Printz Award

Stronger, Faster, and More Beautiful

What does it mean to be human in a genetically modified world? (Sci-Fi)

Sky Without Stars

An unlikely team fights to save their distant planet and their future as revolution brews. (Sci-Fi)

We Are The Perfect Girl

"In order to win over perfect Greg, beautiful Bethany goes on dates with him while bold Aphra coaches her on what to say, but their plan comes crashing down when Greg uncovers their scheme"--OCLC. (Realistic)

Vortex

In book 2 of the Insignia series, Tom Raines must choose loyalty to country or to friends. For fans of Ender's Game, Ready Player One and gaming. (Sci-Fi)

Catalyst

The action-packed conclusion to the Insignia series; for fans of Enders Game, Ready Player One and gaming (Sci-Fi)

Field Notes on Love

Hugo and Mae: strangers on a train, then friends, then more than friends? "Utterly romantic" says Jenny Han, author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before. (Romance)

The Last to Let Go

An abusive (now dead) father and a mother accused of murder equal shattered dreams of escaping to a new life for Brooke. (Realistic)

Dry

Suburbs become war zones when the water runs out in California; survival and finding her parents are Alyssa's goals. (Dystopia, Adventure, Realistic)

Four Dead Queens

Four dead queens. Three days to catch a killer. Two forbidden romances. One shocking plot twist. (Fantasy, Suspense)

Birthday

Two best friends. A shared birthday. Six years...

"...rarely have we seen a story like Birthday...true and raw, haunting and undeniable." --NYT Book Review (Realistic)

Patron Saints of Nothing

A powerful story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder. (Suspense, Realistic)

Opposite of Always

Jack loves Kate. Jack loses Kate. Fate introduces Jack to time travel. Do his choices save Kate, or alter the course of his life?

"Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest." Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Romance, Realistic)

Here to Stay

Bijan Majid is: shy around girls; into comics; decent at basketball. Bijan is not: a terrorist.

"A powerful ... novel about identity and prejudice." Entertainment Weekly (Sports, Realistic)

Field Notes to the North American Teenager

Norris Kaplan: clever, cynical, smart. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American TV that those might not bode well for him when he moves to Austin, Texas. A hilarious debut novel for fans of John Green and Nicola Yoon. (Humor, Romance, Realistic)

Neverworld Wake

Five friends. Only one can survive the Neverworld Wake. 

"A clear-your-calendar kind of one-day read." Melissa Albert, NYT bestselling author (Suspense/Thriller, Sci-Fi)

Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree

Based on interviews of  276 young women kidnapped from school by Boko Haram in Nigeria in 2014, this novel tells the story of one girl's fight for survival. (Suspense, Realistic Fiction)

Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe

A near death experience, a mission from God taken on by a most unlikely pair of non-friends. A vindictive teacher, a hacker, a cult, drug dealers, and a bully all get theirs...

Billed as razor sharp, moving, and outrageously funny, for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli, with several starred reviews. (Humor, Realistic)

Mike

Floyd: tennis star. Mike: ??? Why is Floyd the only one who can see him, and more importantly, what is he doing on the court with him?

(Sports, Realistic)

Unbroken

13 stories of teen heroes and heroines who are not defined by their disabilities.

"There is something for everyone in the volume...a great choice." School Library Journal

Heroine

"A compassionate, compelling, and terrifying story about a high school softball player's addiction to prescription opioids." Kirkus starred review. (Sports, Realistic)

The Downstairs Girl

Lady's maid by day; anonymous advice columnist by night. When Jo's column becomes wildly popular, she uses her pen to right some of societies wrongs--only to find herself in the cross hairs of a notorious criminal.

"A joyful read...The Downstairs Girl...is a jolly good time." -- NPR

Darius the Great Is Not Okay

Darius Kellner speaks better Klingon than Farsi, and knows more about Hobbit social cues than Persian ones. He calls himself a Fractional Persian, and his first-ever trip to Iran is about the change his life.

Let Me Hear a Rhyme

Quadir, Jarrell, and Jasmine are determined to turn their murdered friend into the rap star he should have been --  by pretending he's still alive.

"...spellbinding, profoundly moving.." -- starred review, School Library Journal

Ink Knows No Borders

A poetry collection about young adult immigrants which speaks to the struggles of all teens everywhere--self doubt, confusion, exclusion as well as joy, hope, family and safety. (Poetry, Realistic)

Dear America, Notes From an Undocumented Citizen

A memoir about being brought to America as a child, now struggling to continue to live and work as an undocumented citizen. "This riveting and courageous memoir ought to be mandatory reading for every American" --author Michelle Alexander. (Nonfiction, Memoir)

The Cold In Her Bones

MIlla knows two things are true. Demons are real. Fear will keep her safe. "...a dark, angry fairy tale" filled with love, revenge, and redemption (BCCB starred review). (Paranormal, Horror, Realistic)

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me

Freddy (Frederica) must consider what would happen if she ditched a toxic relationship she craves for a healthy ones she needs in this award-winning graphic novel. (Realistic, Romance)

The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried

A good friend will bury your body, a best friend will dig it back up. "Hilarious and moving, weird and wonderful." --award winning author Jeff Zentner. (Realistic, Sci-Fi, LGBTQ)

My Plain Jane

An irreverent spin on Jane Eyre, this tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem for fans of The Princess Bride. (Humor, Romance, Adventure, Suspense, Historical)

This Moment In Your Life

A guide to mindfulness for teens, focusing on yoga, breathing, mediation, and everyday practices. (Nonfiction, Self Help)

Game Changer

A football injury. A coma. An accident? Told through texts, articles, online chat, and more, Game Changer explores the thrills--and dangers--of America's most popular sport. (Sports, Realistic)

Be Not Far From Me

"This is absolute catnip for fans of survival stories... an absolute firecracker of a narrator, wickedly funny, deeply knowledgeable about the woods, and insightful about the wilderness of teenage interactions..." --BCCB (Adventure/Survival, Realistic)

Wicked As You Wish

One prince+one girl with secrets+one firebird +assorted oddball friends = one nail-biting quest. "Come for the adventure, stay for the sassy jerkwad firebird." -- Kendare Brown, NYT best-selling author. (Fantasy)

Every Reason We Shouldn't

A witty, charismatic, multicultural love story with skating--all kinds. And Korean pastries. For fans of Jenny Han and Rainbow Rowell. (Sports, Romance)

Only Mostly Devastated

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens meets Clueless in a funny boy-meets-boy spin on Grease. Will and Ollie will make you laugh out loud with their on-again-off-again teen romance. (Romance, LGBTQ)

Home and Away

Tasia is young, Black, and fabulous--and the only girl on her school's football team. Then a mysterious box hidden by her mother calls her identity into question. "You'll wish you were friends with Tasia Clark." author Emery Lord (Sports, Realistic)

With the Fire on High

Emoni--student, aspiring chef, and teen mom-- struggles to follow her dream. (Realistic)

Free Lunch

Free Lunch is the story of Rex Ogle's first semester in sixth grade. Rex and his baby brother often went hungry, wore secondhand clothes, and were short of school supplies, and Rex was on his school's free lunch program. Grounded in the immediacy of physical hunger and the humiliation of having to announce it every day in the school lunch line, Rex's is a compelling story of a more profound hunger--that of a child for his parents' love and care. (Narrative Non-Fiction)

Research Guides

Overdrive: Digital and Audiobooks

In addition to a variety of campus ebooks that are available through Destiny, students can access additional audio- and e-books through Sora (formerly Overdrive), a district-wide resource. 

Watch this video for directions on how to use Sora. Your login is the same as your campus login (lastname_StudentID and password); please contact Ms. Hensley if you have trouble logging in our using Sora.

Image result for sora

Overdrive Resources

Tayshas Reading Lists

Request a book for the Sora digital library

 

Welcome to the library!

We're here to help!

Holly Hensley, Librarian
holly.hensley@leanderisd.org
(512) 570-2067

Sandy Litton, Library Assistant
Sandy.litton@leanderisd.org
(512) 570-2111

Library Hours:

8:00-4:30 Daily

 

Requests?