Skip to main content
Rouse Home   /   Library Home

Rouse High School: Home

NEW BOOKS FALL 2020!

Dragon Hoops

This graphic novel follows the trials of a high school basketball team trying to clinch the state title and the graphic novelist chronicling them. The full-color illustrations are varied in layout, effectively conveying intense emotion and heart-stopping action on the court. Yang is Chinese American, Richie is black, and there is significant diversity among the team members.(Kirkus) 

Slayer

In this first book of a new series, set in the Buffy, the Vampire Slayer era, Nina is chosen as a watcher-in-training. When bodies start turning up, one thing is clear: being Chosen is easy. Making choices is hard. (Adventure, Fantasy)

Heretics Anonymous

What happens when an atheist attends a Catholic school? Comedy and chaos as misfit students set out to change their school, one nun at a time in the starred-reviewed debut novel. (Humor, Realistic)

The Gilded Wolves

1890s Paris: secret societies and high stakes heists meet misfits and magic. (Fantasy, suspense, historical fiction)

Sadie

A missing girl on a journey of revenge. A podcast following the clues she leaves behind. An ending you won't believe. Sadie, recipient of four starred reviews and on many "best book" lists, is one to be read in a sitting. (Suspense, Realistic)

What does it mean to be human in a genetically modified world? (Sci-Fi)

An unlikely team fights to save their distant planet and their future as revolution brews. (Sci-Fi)

The thrilling sequel to bestseller, The Diabolic. TeenVogue.com: “the perfect kind of high-pressure adventure.” (Sci-Fi)

In book 2 of the Insignia series, Tom Raines must choose loyalty to country or to friends. For fans of Ender's Game, Ready Player One and gaming. (Sci-Fi)

The action-packed conclusion to the Insignia series; for fans of Enders Game, Ready Player One and gaming (Sci-Fi)

Hugo and Mae: strangers on a train, then friends, then more than friends? "Utterly romantic" says Jenny Han, author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before. (Romance)

An abusive (now dead) father and a mother accused of murder equal shattered dreams of escaping to a new life for Brooke. (Realistic)

Suburbs become war zones when the water runs out in California; survival and finding her parents are Alyssa's goals. (Dystopia, Adventure, Realistic)

Four dead queens. Three days to catch a killer. Two forbidden romances. One shocking plot twist. (Fantasy, Suspense)

Two best friends. A shared birthday. Six years...

"...rarely have we seen a story like Birthday...true and raw, haunting and undeniable." --NYT Book Review (Realistic)

A powerful story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder. (Suspense, Realistic)

Jack loves Kate. Jack loses Kate. Fate introduces Jack to time travel. Do his choices save Kate, or alter the course of his life?

"Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest." Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Romance, Realistic)

Bijan Majid is: shy around girls; into comics; decent at basketball. Bijan is not: a terrorist.

"A powerful ... novel about identity and prejudice." Entertainment Weekly (Sports, Realistic)

Norris Kaplan: clever, cynical, smart. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American TV that those might not bode well for him when he moves to Austin, Texas. A hilarious debut novel for fans of John Green and Nicola Yoon. (Humor, Romance, Realistic)

Five friends. Only one can survive the Neverworld Wake. 

"A clear-your-calendar kind of one-day read." Melissa Albert, NYT bestselling author (Suspense/Thriller, Sci-Fi)

Based on interviews of  276 young women kidnapped from school by Boko Haram in Nigeria in 2014, this novel tells the story of one girl's fight for survival. (Suspense, Realistic Fiction)

A near death experience, a mission from God taken on by a most unlikely pair of non-friends. A vindictive teacher, a hacker, a cult, drug dealers, and a bully all get theirs...

Billed as razor sharp, moving, and outrageously funny, for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli, with several starred reviews. (Humor, Realistic)

Floyd: tennis star. Mike: ??? Why is Floyd the only one who can see him, and more importantly, what is he doing on the court with him?

(Sports, Realistic)

13 stories of teen heroes and heroines who are not defined by their disabilities.

"There is something for everyone in the volume...a great choice." School Library Journal

"A compassionate, compelling, and terrifying story about a high school softball player's addiction to prescription opioids." Kirkus starred review. (Sports, Realistic)

Lady's maid by day; anonymous advice columnist by night. When Jo's column becomes wildly popular, she uses her pen to right some of societies wrongs--only to find herself in the cross hairs of a notorious criminal.

"A joyful read...The Downstairs Girl...is a jolly good time." -- NPR

Darius Kellner speaks better Klingon than Farsi, and knows more about Hobbit social cues than Persian ones. He calls himself a Fractional Persian, and his first-ever trip to Iran is about the change his life.

Quadir, Jarrell, and Jasmine are determined to turn their murdered friend into the rap star he should have been --  by pretending he's still alive.

"...spellbinding, profoundly moving.." -- starred review, School Library Journal

A poetry collection about young adult immigrants which speaks to the struggles of all teens everywhere--self doubt, confusion, exclusion as well as joy, hope, family and safety. (Poetry, Realistic)

A memoir about being brought to America as a child, now struggling to continue to live and work as an undocumented citizen. "This riveting and courageous memoir ought to be mandatory reading for every American" --author Michelle Alexander. (Nonfiction, Memoir)

MIlla knows two things are true. Demons are real. Fear will keep her safe. "...a dark, angry fairy tale" filled with love, revenge, and redemption (BCCB starred review). (Paranormal, Horror, Realistic)

Freddy (Frederica) must consider what would happen if she ditched a toxic relationship she craves for a healthy ones she needs in this award-winning graphic novel. (Realistic, Romance)

A good friend will bury your body, a best friend will dig it back up. "Hilarious and moving, weird and wonderful." --award winning author Jeff Zentner. (Realistic, Sci-Fi, LGBTQ)

An irreverent spin on Jane Eyre, this tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem for fans of The Princess Bride. (Humor, Romance, Adventure, Suspense, Historical)

A guide to mindfulness for teens, focusing on yoga, breathing, mediation, and everyday practices. (Nonfiction, Self Help)

A football injury. A coma. An accident? Told through texts, articles, online chat, and more, Game Changer explores the thrills--and dangers--of America's most popular sport. (Sports, Realistic)

"This is absolute catnip for fans of survival stories... an absolute firecracker of a narrator, wickedly funny, deeply knowledgeable about the woods, and insightful about the wilderness of teenage interactions..." --BCCB (Adventure/Survival, Realistic)

One prince+one girl with secrets+one firebird +assorted oddball friends = one nail-biting quest. "Come for the adventure, stay for the sassy jerkwad firebird." -- Kendare Brown, NYT best-selling author. (Fantasy)

A witty, charismatic, multicultural love story with skating--all kinds. And Korean pastries. For fans of Jenny Han and Rainbow Rowell. (Sports, Romance)

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens meets Clueless in a funny boy-meets-boy spin on Grease. Will and Ollie will make you laugh out loud with their on-again-off-again teen romance. (Romance, LGBTQ)

Tasia is young, Black, and fabulous--and the only girl on her school's football team. Then a mysterious box hidden by her mother calls her identity into question. "You'll wish you were friends with Tasia Clark." author Emery Lord (Sports, Realistic)

With the Fire on High

Emoni--student, aspiring chef, and teen mom-- struggles to follow her dream. (Realistic)

American Royals

A competition for a crown and a heart in America. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. (Romance, Adventure)

Research Guides

Overdrive: Digital and Audiobooks

In addition to a variety of campus ebooks that are available through Destiny, students can access additional audio- and e-books through Sora (formerly Overdrive), a district-wide resource. 

Watch this video for directions on how to use Sora. Your login is the same as your campus login (lastname_StudentID and password); please contact Ms. Hensley if you have trouble logging in our using Sora.

Image result for sora

Overdrive Resources

Tayshas Reading Lists

Request a book for the Sora digital library

 

Welcome to the library!

We're here to help!

Holly Hensley, Librarian
holly.hensley@leanderisd.org
(512) 570-2067

Sandy Litton, Library Assistant
Sandy.litton@leanderisd.org
(512) 570-2111

Library Hours:

8:00-4:30 Daily

 

Requests?