Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Reference Library
The Bedford Researcher with 2016 MLA Update by It has never been more important to learn how to locate relevant, credible sources, to evaluate competing ideas and arguments, and to share our thoughts with others in a compelling, well-supported manner. This edition of The Bedford Researcher, like those that have come before it, was written to help students strengthen their ability to understand, assess, and contribute to ongoing conversations about important issues. Tech-savvy and student-friendly, The Bedford Researcher addresses the wide variety of source-based writing students do and the kinds of sources they actually use, from multimodal projects and oral presentations to Web sites and digital databases. The Bedford Researcher strips away the complexities of research writing across the disciplines and offers the practical help students need to write with confidence while integrating electronic sources and tools into each stage of the process. It addresses the vast amount of information available to writers, the expanding variety of media and genres used by writers to share their work, the critical importance and increasingly challenge of evaluating sources, and the demands of managing information effectively and efficiently. Now available with LaunchPad Solo for Research and Reference, which includes a mix of tutorials, practice exercises, and student writing to help you get the most out of The Bedford Researcher.
Publication Date: 2016-07-27
A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research by Rather than offering an extensive treatment of mixed methods, this concise book offers students in the social, behavioural, and health sciences a foundation for understanding mixed methods methodology. Practical for use in workshops, seminars, global webinars, and as a supplementary text in undergraduate and graduate classes, Creswell's book is ideal for the beginner or the more advanced researcher looking for a quick primer in mixed methods, by an authoritative mixed methods scholar.
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
The Craft of Research by With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Doing Case Study Research by Reflecting recent knowledge and developments in the field, this very practical, easy-to-use guide emphasizes learning how to do case study research--from the first step of deciding whether a case study is the way to go to the last step of verifying and confirming findings before disseminating them. The authors show students how to: determine an appropriate research design; conduct informative interviews; record observations; document analyses; delineate ways to confirm case study findings; describe methods for deriving meaning from data; and communicate their findings. Featuring many new examples, the Third Edition offers step-by-step guidance to help beginning researchers through the stages of planning and implementing a thesis, dissertation, or independent project. This succinct "how-to" guide is an excellent place for anyone to begin doing case study research.
Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Introduction Research Methods by This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees - in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: - choose your research methods - choose your participants - prepare a research proposal - construct questionnaires - conduct interviews and focus groups - analyse your data - report your findings - be an ethical researcher. Contents: Preface; 1. How to Define Your Project; 2. How to Decide Upon a Methodology; 3. How to Choose Your Research Methods; 4. How to Conduct Background Research; 5. How to Choose Your Participants; 6. How to Prepare a Research Proposal; 7. How to Conduct Interviews; 8. How to Conduct Focus Groups; 9. How to Construct Questionnaires; 10. How to Carry Out Participant Observation; 11. How to Analyse Your Data; 12. How to Report Your Findings; 13. How to be an Ethical Researcher; Useful addresses; Index.
Publication Date: 2009-05-29
Practical Research by Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0134013506 . Engaging and cross-disciplinary, Practical Research: Planning and Design is a do-it-yourself, understand-it-yourself manual for planning and conducting research. Suitable for a wide variety of courses in basic research methodology, the text guides the reader, step-by-step, from the selection of a problem, through the process of conducting authentic research, to the preparation of a completed report, with practical suggestions throughout. The authors emphasize the idea that quality research demands planning and design, and they provide what is needed for readers to be able to execute their own research projects effectively and professionally. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad#65533; and Android#65533; tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Principles of Scientific Research by Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of scientific research. Students and researchers need more information than ever on STEM content and the practice of science. Unlike any other resource, this new title delves into the world of scientific research, to give high school and undergraduate students a better understanding of concepts and theories behind scientific research across all disciplines. These easy-to-understand articles will provide students and teachers with instructional articles about each topic and provide a context for application and incorporation into their own scientific practices. More than 100 entries explain these theories and concepts in easy-to-understand language, so readers come away with a better understanding of each topic and can then put that information to use. Entries are arranged under three broad categories, and include: Statistics Methodologies includes Linear & Non-Linear Relationships, Correlational Modeling, Histograms, Significance Levels, Chi-Squared Test and more. Research Methodologies illustrates ideas in Case Study Research, Completely Randomized Designs, Ethnography, Multiple Case Study, Split Plot Type Designs, Time-Series Designs, Cluster Sampling, and more. Theoretics of Research outlines theories of Comparative Research, Deductive Reasoning, Descriptive Research, Explanatory Research, Inductive Reasoning, Objectivity, Quantitative Research, and others. These informative entries will inform and educate high school and undergraduate students on the fundamentals of research methods, practice and theory. This new volume will be a must-have source for high school and undergraduate libraries and science collections at all levels.
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell′s signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Editionis an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.
Publication Date: 2017-01-25
Research Design by This bestselling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions; key elements of the research process; a review of the literature; an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.New to this Edition Updated discussion on designing a proposal for a research project and on the steps in designing a research study. Additional content on epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology and method. Additional updates on the transformative worldview. Expanded coverage on specific approaches such as case studies, participatory action research, and visual methods. Additional information about social media, online qualitative methods, and mentoring and reflexivity in qualitative methods. Incorporation of action research and program evaluation in mixed methods and coverage of the latest advances in the mixed methods field Additional coverage on qualitative and quantitative data analysis software in the respective methods chapters. Additional information about causality and its relationship to statistics in quantitative methods. Incorporation of writing discussion sections into each of the three methodologies. Current references and additional readings are included in this new edition.
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
A collection of magazine, website and online course sites to cultivate your curiosity.
Podcasts for Everyone
If you aren't listening to podcasts, you are missing out! According to Forbes magazine, more than 112,000,000 Americans have listened to podcasts for a whole lot of reasons: they give your eyes a rest and let your ears do the work, and you can listen to them just about anywhere, and about nearly any topic of interest to you. From true crime to science to entertainment to sports--there's sure to be at least one podcast for you!