Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biogrpahy in Context
The Biography Resource Center is a comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 1,000,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources with nearly one million biographies from The Complete Marquis Who's Who. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search path.
Additional Biography Sites
Academy of Achievement
Academy of Achievement The Academy of Achievement is a unique nonprofit foundation that brings students into direct personal contact with pre-eminent leaders. Under the “Achiever Gallery” section of the site, biographies, profiles, and interviews are featured on the organization with leaders from the arts, business, public service, science and exploration, and sports. The site also provides links to podcasts and resources for teachers.
American President: an Online Reference Resource
Includes detailed biographies of past and present Presidents and First Ladies.
Provides biographical information on the members of the space flight crews and candidates for future missions in NASA's space flight program.
BBC–History: Historic Figures
BBC–History: Historical Figures The British Broadcasting Company’s website provides an A-to-Z list of selective concise biographies on famous and notable historical figures for site visitors to explore.
Biographical Dictionary of the United States Congress,
Search by last name, first name, position, state, party, year, or Congress to retrieve brief biographical articles with bibliographies.
A searchable site with information on noteworthy people.
Famous Native Americans
Famous Native Americans from Biography.com
Governors - National Governors Association
Brief biographies and contact information for all current U.S. governors. The "Search All Governors" provides advanced search features and information on governors of the past.
"Part of the large Infoplease.com site, this boasts over 30,000 biographies of historical and contemporary figures.
Search by name or one of the categories (sports, presidents, vice presidents, entertainment, people in the news, business leaders, world leaders, and deaths in the current and previous years). Information varies from minimal to detailed."
Legacy.com is one of the leading companies in the online obituary market, hosting more than 20 million obituaries worldwide. In addition to searching obituaries by name or keyword, the site includes regularly updated biographical sections such as “Obituaries in the News” and “Legends and Legacies.”
National Women's History Museum Biographies
Includes biographies of varying lengths. Some, such as the biography of Clara Barton, include lists of resources for additional information as well as a list of works cited.
Online Encyclopedia: African American History, People
Part of BlackPast.org, this site provides short biographies of individuals who "have contributed to the shaping of African American history." Entries are brief, but each includes a citation to the source from which the information was obtained.
PBS.org—Biographies and Profiles
On PBS.org, visitors can explore historical biographies and profiles from a wide variety of PBS programs, including documentaries, feature films, and interviews about famous people or historical figures.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
A broad range of brief biographies of notable people.