LibGuides: Rhetoric and Research Unit : LHS Library Research Databases

Searching

Remember Keyword searching is like looking at an index in a book.

Subject searching is like looking at the Table of Contents.

Try searching both ways--you will get better results.

SIRS Knowledge Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive portal offering centralized access to all SIRS products which target the needs of students with best-of content selected to support research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.

US History in Context
World History in Context
Gale Student Resource in Context
General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Student Resource Center (Gale)
Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC - Gold provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Premier reference content includes the American Journey Series, American Decades, Career Information Center and the SRC Health Module.

eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 2,000 full-text sources. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, television/radio transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video clips.
SIRS Knowledge Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive portal offering centralized access to all SIRS products which target the needs of students with best-of content selected to support research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects.

Gale Infotrac Newstand
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.

How do I access the databases from home?

1. Select the link below

2. When asked for a password ask Mrs. Hyden or Mrs. Koski or think of cheering on your mascot :)

3. Once open you will have a list of all database usernames and passwords