LibGuides: Glenn High School: Databases A-Z

A-B-C-D

GHS Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of all academic disciplines, Academic OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.
GHS Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
GHS AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window The AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest.
GHS Biography in Context This link opens in a new window Biographical and contextual information on notable people throughout history

Britannica School In Britannica School, students can conduct research using thousands upon thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended websites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools. Trust Britannica School to inspire, inform, and support exploration, discovery, and learning--any time, any place, and on any device.
Britannica Escolar Discover the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish.
Britannica ImageQuest

GHS Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
GHS Cameron's Collection This link opens in a new window Provides targeted guidance on sensitive teen issues for students, teachers, and counselors.
GHS Chilton Library This link opens in a new window Authoritative automotive repair covers the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years.
GHS Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window The single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
GHS Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

CQ Researcher A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

E-F-G-H-I

EBSCO

GHS Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
GHS Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window Multimedia coverage of environmental issues, including health care and climate change.
GHS ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
GHS Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora is EBSCO’s research interface designed specifically for students and educators. The secondary school version features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help high school students successfully complete their research.
GHS Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia provides access to over 25,000 records that cover an array of topics. Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia contains images and offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
GHS Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window eBooks from Gale and premier partners including ISTE, ASCD, ABC-CLIO, DK, and Encyclopedia Britannica so support the k-12 core curriculum with GVRL.
GHS Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
GHS Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Health-focused magazines, reference, video, and more.
GHS Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
GHS High School in Context This link opens in a new window Information on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more
GHS Informe Académico This link opens in a new window Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre America Latina

J-K-L-M-N

JSTOR

GHS News This link opens in a new window Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
GHS Literary Index This link opens in a new window Search this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.
GHS Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window This comprehensive, full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
GHS Literary Reference Center eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism, study guides, and classics such as Emma, Dracula and Frankenstein.
GHS Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides. It gives students a complete foundation of literary reference works.
GHS Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Literary content integrates with subject indexing for a full research experience.
GHS Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
GHS Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
GHS LitFinder This link opens in a new window Literary works, biographies, images and much more for the lit student.

EBSCO LearningExpress

GHS National Geographic Kids This link opens in a new window Reputable, authoritative, and appropriate content that brings children aged 6-14 the world in a way they've never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space.
GHS Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Maps 101 Maps101.com is a web-based interactive database of teacher lesson plans, geography tools, online learning games, dynamic interactive map modules and over 4,000 viewable and printable history, thematic, reference, outline, current events and animated maps.

GHS MAS Ultra School Edition This link opens in a new window This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra – School Edition contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
GHS MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.

O-P-Q-R-S

GHS Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
GHS Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
GHS Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window The Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more than 300 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
GHS Science in Context This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gales' authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
GHS Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window The acclaimed Scribner Writers series provides students, teachers, and other researchers access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and wors of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods.

T-U-V

TeachingBooks Exclusive, ever-growing, vetted collection of instructional materials about children's and young adult books and authors. Everyone can easily identify exceptional books that reflect diverse cultural experiences, interests, and ability levels as well as obtain resources paired with your book titles that further reading enjoyment, contextual knowledge, and educational relevance. TeachingBooks offers every reader the power to enrich their relationship to the books they are reading.

GHS Texas Reference Center This link opens in a new window Texas Reference Center is a Texas specific product comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains more than 75 full text periodicals, 150 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more.
GHS TOPICSearch This link opens in a new window This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch contains full text for nearly 96,000 articles from hundreds of diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
GHS Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements * cite as an eBook using the title of the specific resource referenced

Glenn High School: Databases A-Z

Database Instructions when off campus

A-B-C-D

E-F-G-H-I

J-K-L-M-N

O-P-Q-R-S

T-U-V