When you are not on campus, follow this link and use your school login credentials to access the databases.
Academic
GHS Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
GHS JSTORThis link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials
Biography
GHS Biography in ContextThis link opens in a new windowBiographical and contextual information on notable people throughout history
GHS - Britannica SchoolIncludes thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended Web sites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools.
Business
GHS Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
GHS Regional Business NewsThis link opens in a new windowIncorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
College and Career
GHS Chilton LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAuthoritative automotive repair covers the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years.
Education
GHS Educator's Reference CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic articles, reports, news, book reports, and more in the field of education
GHS ERICThis link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
GHS Professional Development CollectionThis link opens in a new windowProfessional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
General Research
GHS - Britannica SchoolIncludes thousands of searchable encyclopedia and journal articles, images, videos, audios, curated primary sources with curriculum relevance, detailed maps, editor-recommended Web sites, learning games, a world atlas, and a wealth of how-to research tools.
GHS Gale OneFileThis link opens in a new windowMagazine, news, and journal articles on general interest topics and current events
GHS Informe AcadémicoThis link opens in a new windowUna coleccion de revistas hispanicas con textos completos.
GHS MasterFILE PremierThis link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
GHS MAS Ultra School EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra – School Edition contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
GHS High School in ContextThis link opens in a new windowInformation on high school research topics plus pop culture, sports, and more
GHS Texas Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTexas Reference Center is a Texas specific product comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains more than 75 full text periodicals, 150 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more.
GHS TOPICSearchThis link opens in a new windowThis current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch contains full text for nearly 96,000 articles from hundreds of diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Health
GHS AHFS Consumer Medication InformationThis link opens in a new windowThe AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers and has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest.
GHS Consumer Health CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThe single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
GHS Health and WellnessThis link opens in a new windowHealth-focused magazines, reference, video, and more.
GHS Health Source Consumer EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
History/Social Studies
GHS National Geographic KidsThis link opens in a new windowReputable, authoritative, and appropriate content that brings children aged 6-14 the world in a way they've never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space.
GHS Religion and Philosophy CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more than 300 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
GHS Texas Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTexas Reference Center is a Texas specific product comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains more than 75 full text periodicals, 150 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more.
Issues
GHS Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new windowFind overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Literature
GHS Gale LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowLiterary content integrates with subject indexing for a full research experience.
GHS Literary Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive, full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
GHS Literature CriticismThis link opens in a new windowExplore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
GHS Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowBiography, criticism, and overviews on writers and specific works in all disciplines
GHS Scribner Writer SeriesThis link opens in a new windowSigned essays on 2,000 authors and genres from the acclaimed print series.
GHS Twayne's Author SeriesThis link opens in a new windowTwayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements * cite as an eBook using the title of the specific resource referenced
Newspaper
GHS - CQ ResearcherAward-winning weekly online publication providing authoritative and
accessible content and analysis on newsworthy social and political issues. Each report is an original work, researched and written by an experienced journalist and is professionally factchecked. CQ Researcher content is renowned for its objectivity, breadth and depth of coverage.
GHS Newspaper SourceThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
GHS NewsThis link opens in a new windowAccess major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
Science
GHS Environmental StudiesThis link opens in a new windowMultimedia coverage of environmental issues, including health care and climate change.
GHS Science in ContextThis link opens in a new windowAcademic articles, videos, experiments, and more
