Skip to Main Content
BOOKS AT VANDEGRIFT
The Pros and Cons of Hydropower by Ruth Bjorklund
Discover the world of energy resources with this look at hydropower and learn about its advantages and disadvantages, as well was how hydropower influences the environment and what its use means for Earth's future.
Call Number: 333.91 BJO
Hydropower by Stephen Currie
The Compact Research series offers a concise, relevant, and conveniently organized collection of information covering a variety of topics including illegal immigration and deforestation to diseases such as anorexia and meningitis. Each book introduces a timely topic in a tightly organized format to hold readers' interest. Lively objective overviews, primary source quotes, and illustrated facts and statistics present an inviting full-color and user-friendly format. Book jacket.
Call Number: 333.91 CUR
Water by Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
This striking volume delivers contemporary perspectives on water as a resource, with the majority of the material reflecting stances of countries other than the United States. Essays are assembled across four chapters that explain the state of our oceans, how we are managing water scarcity, how various cultures are trying to access safe water, and hydropower. Essay contributors include the HM Government, Department of Energy and Climate Change, The Economist, Integrated Regional Information Networks News, Zhou Jigang, Peng Guangcan, Kieran R. Hickey, and Mae-Wan Ho.
Call Number: 363.6 WAT
Dams and Waterways by Cynthia Phillips; Shana Priwer
Dams and Waterways, a title in the five-title series Frameworks: Science, Technology, and the Built Environment, illuminates the history, architecture, environmental impact, and scientific and engineering principles behind the design and construction of dams, canals, and other waterways around the world throughout history. Examples include aqueducts in the Roman Empire, the Hoover Dam, Aswan High Dam, Three Gorges Dam, and the Erie Canal. Dams and Waterways provides an interdisciplinary, visual approach that combines informative text, fascinating background information, and basic scientific principles with dozens of full-color photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and other visuals. It highlights the importance of structures that support essential functions of everyday life from the irrigation of crops to the generation of hydroelectric power. Appropriate for a broad audience of students, teachers, librarians, and general interest readers, Dams and Waterways is an excellent supplemental resource for subjects covered throughout the curricula: science, technology, and society; art and architecture; economics; and world history and culture.
Call Number: 627 PHI
STRICTLY SCIENTIFIC
GREENR (Gale)
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
GreenFile (EbscoHost)
This complimentary research database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Energy Citations Database
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. (From the website).
Science in Context (Gale)
Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
FIND BOOKS AND PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS
JSTOR
When using for the first time remember to click on the JSTOR Token found on the passwords page. Once account is created use your newly created username and password.
Explora (EbscoHost)
Searches Academic Search Complete, TopicSearch, Newspaper Source, Topic Overviews and Ebsco's eBook collection all in one platform.
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of all academic disciplines, Academic OneFile is authoritative and comprehensive. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily.
RECOMMENDED WEBSITES
Department of Energy
The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE search tool that makes scholarly scientific publications, resulting from DOE research funding, publicly accessible and discoverable at no charge to users.
UP FOR DEBATE
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
CQ Researcher
See Ms. Lopez for assistance.
The Pros and Cons of Hydropower by
Discover the world of energy resources with this look at hydropower and learn about its advantages and disadvantages, as well was how hydropower influences the environment and what its use means for Earth's future.
Hydropower by
The Compact Research series offers a concise, relevant, and conveniently organized collection of information covering a variety of topics including illegal immigration and deforestation to diseases such as anorexia and meningitis. Each book introduces a timely topic in a tightly organized format to hold readers' interest. Lively objective overviews, primary source quotes, and illustrated facts and statistics present an inviting full-color and user-friendly format. Book jacket.
Water by
This striking volume delivers contemporary perspectives on water as a resource, with the majority of the material reflecting stances of countries other than the United States. Essays are assembled across four chapters that explain the state of our oceans, how we are managing water scarcity, how various cultures are trying to access safe water, and hydropower. Essay contributors include the HM Government, Department of Energy and Climate Change, The Economist, Integrated Regional Information Networks News, Zhou Jigang, Peng Guangcan, Kieran R. Hickey, and Mae-Wan Ho.
Dams and Waterways by
Dams and Waterways, a title in the five-title series Frameworks: Science, Technology, and the Built Environment, illuminates the history, architecture, environmental impact, and scientific and engineering principles behind the design and construction of dams, canals, and other waterways around the world throughout history. Examples include aqueducts in the Roman Empire, the Hoover Dam, Aswan High Dam, Three Gorges Dam, and the Erie Canal. Dams and Waterways provides an interdisciplinary, visual approach that combines informative text, fascinating background information, and basic scientific principles with dozens of full-color photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and other visuals. It highlights the importance of structures that support essential functions of everyday life from the irrigation of crops to the generation of hydroelectric power. Appropriate for a broad audience of students, teachers, librarians, and general interest readers, Dams and Waterways is an excellent supplemental resource for subjects covered throughout the curricula: science, technology, and society; art and architecture; economics; and world history and culture.
